skip navigation

2022 Recognition and Carnival Night

By Rocco Lucci, 06/10/22, 4:00PM EDT


Niagara Frontier held it's Club Recognition Night on Tuesday, June 7th. The event was attended by over 450 players, parents and friends of the #NFVBnation.  The night began with a little history lesson followed by the announcement that Niagara Frontier was selected by the JVA as the June 2022 "Club of the Month."

Our WEVA Regional banners from the past two seasons were unveiled along with the recognition of our Girls 14 Navy team who finished 2nd at the Northeast Qualifier this year.

The senior graduates, all wearing their "college" shirts came up to center stage to get recognized. So much growth and so much talent. We wish our senior grads the best of luck as they go on to play and study at their respective colleges and universities while representing NFVB.

One of the club's parents, Mr. Chris Taggert, took the microphone and spoke about the kindness and support the club has given both the Taggert and Mycek families during the season. He delivered a heartfelt message about loving and caring for each other and took the opportunity to remind all the young and future drivers to obey the laws and speed limits so we can all be safe on the road.

We handed out some all club awards to recognize players who excelled in defense, setting and attacking as well as two club director awards. 

New to the event was the addition of a basket raffle and "carnival" style games to go along with the always popular bounce house and obstacle course. The crowd enjoyed hot dogs and snacks while navigating the gym floor to compete in contests and games of skill. Lots of energy displayed... some of which could have been attributed to the candy prizes. 

Congrats to all the award recipients and thank you to all the families who donated over 25 baskets and some great prizes such as autographed Bills helmets, jerseys and Sabres tickets. Proceeds from the event were shared with both the Taggart and Mycek families.

All Club Awards

Directors Awards:
Jordan Hummel and Kyle Zelasko
Attacker "Golden Spike" Awards:
Tereska Sorel and Johnny Bly
Setter "Hands of Gold" Awards:
Haley Gerken and Matt Maruza
Defense "Golden Shovel" Awards:
Jordan Hummel and Kyle Zelasko

2022 Coaches Award Recipients

Each team's coaching staff selects an individual from their team to receive an award at the end of the season.  The players chosen have displayed one or more of the attributes listed below:

  • Displays passion for the game
  • Performance indicates a high degree of skill improvement, character development, and participation during the season.
  • Works hard, and shows leadership on and off the court.
  • Attends practices and tournaments regularly.
  • Positive attitude and outlook which inspires others to perform better.
  • Practices good sportsmanship
  • Shows respect for the opposition, coaches and other club members

Congrats to this year's recipients!

2022 Team Player Name
12 House Program Cali Racsumberger
12 House Program Cole Crahen
12 House Program Julia Mruk
12 House Program Lydia Shadle
12 House Program Samantha Croglio
12 House Program Samuel Musial
12 Gold Nathan Vona
12 Navy Addison Doody
12 Red Lailynne Tarnowski
13 Gold Dylan Grimes
13 Green Lauren Merz
13 Navy Ava Marusza
13 North Lucy Uhl
13 South Lily Ruhlmann
13 White Vanessa Fusco
14 Bronze Alex Seege
14 East Kaylee Stucke
14 Gold John Hutton
14 Navy Chase Chudoba
14 North Ava McGraff
14 Red Taylor Galligan
14 Silver Jack Granville
14 Bronze Alex Seige
14 South Gabby Flugel
14 White Ella Kujawa
15 East Sam Nadeau
15 Gold Colton Brown
15 Navy Kaylie Jackson
15 North Joelle Pittman
15 Red Alyciana Alvira
15 Silver Tyler Schunk
15 South Liz Green
15 White Taryn Winnert
16 Bronze Eathan Hovey
16 East Isabella Decker
16 Gold Michael Bleech
16 Green Megan Nottis
16 Navy Avery Gaume
16 North Liz Kauzala
16 Red Isabella DeMarzio
16 Silver Nathan Roorbach
16 South Georgia Horschel
16 West Camryn Locher
16 White Ellie Cusmano
17 Gold Peyton Koszelak
17 Green Nora Dugan
17 Navy Ella Wittman
17 Red Madison Hanaka
17 Silver John Hutton
17 Silver Gavin Wilczewski
17 White Quinn Hagler
18 Gold Kyle Zelasko
18 Navy Madelyn Harrison
18 Red Kayleigh Sullivan
18 Silver Dan Sterba